The State of Utah enacted a new law that adds the charge of reckless driving onto citations for those who are caught speeding 105+mph. This new law actually began on March 4, 2022 and is now in full effect.

The Utah Highway Patrol released a media statement yesterday, reminding the change and the new law being in effect. This is most likely a result of the recent busts of speeders in Utah, as the Utah Highway Patrol has been doing speed traps to cut down on the recent increase in speed-related deaths.

Picture of a speeding ticket in Utah to remind drivers of the “reckless driving” charges for speeders caught doing 105+ mph. (Utah Highway Patrol, Social Media Release)

Utah Highway Patrol reported they stopped a whole 52 cars during Easter Weekend last month, who were doing 100+ mph. They cited an additional almost 300 speeders for doing over 10 mph of the speed limit but below 99 mph. UHP last year cited 5,000 speeders who were traveling in excess of 100 mph. This year they are currently on track to cite more.

The Utah SB 53 Bill also allows a 150% increase on fines if the speeder was traveling in excess of 100 mph and even seizure of the vehicle by law enforcement if the speeder is noncompliant or found to be participating in a street race. The offense of reckless driving is a class B misdemeanor.

The bill states, “a person who drives a vehicle at a speed of 105 mph or greater is guilty of reckless driving, defined as operating a vehicle in “willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.” 

Besides speeding, the UHP has reported an 82% of increase since last year concerning DUI citations/arrests for driving the wrong way accidents.

Under Utah law, the “reckless driving” charge would be punishable by up to 6 months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000, as it is classified as a class B misdemeanor.

For more information on the Utah SB 53 Bill, visit the following link: Utah SB 53 Driver Speeding Amendments.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.