Emma Humes of Moapa Valley was named to the Southern Nevada NIAA Top 10 Athletes of the Year. (Photo: Heather Humes)


The Nevada Interscholastic Activities Association (NIAA) released a media release announcing the top 10 student-athletes for Nevada High Schools. Along with that, they announced that $20,000 in scholarship money was awarded to the top ten student-athletes of the year.

The student-athletes of the year awards are presented to the top students who excel in sports,
maintain high academic status, and volunteer in their community. The winners will be
presented with a $1,000 scholarship, a special commemorative program, and a special gift to
help them as they further their education.

“The spirit of the Silver State is embodied in high school athletics and activities,” Donnie
Nelson, Interim Executive Director of the NIAA said. “The Top Ten winners we honored this
year have achieved and maintained an exceptionally high level of excellence in all aspects of
their lives. These will be our future leaders. They will continue to make a positive difference in
our communities.”

“We’re proud to celebrate these student-athletes outstanding achievements in athletics, in their
classrooms, and in their communities,” said Paul Parrish, One Nevada President, and CEO.
“Through pure determination, hard work, and Nevada grit these students excelled during the
most challenging years of the pandemic. Their commitment to showing up for themselves, their
teams, and their communities will help us build one Nevada that’s stronger than ever. That’s why we’re so pleased to award each of them a college scholarship and special gift in support of their
education journey.”

2022 NIAA / One Nevada Top Ten Student-Athletes of the Year

Northern Nevada Top Ten Student-Athletes of the Year

Audrey Brust Bishop Manogue High School Reno
Lila Humlick Whittell High School Zephyr Cove
Kai Miller Carson High School Carson City
Devin Moura Pershing County High School Lovelock
Isaac O’Neill Fernley High School Fernley
Farryn Pauly Galena High School Reno
Jacob Penney Spanish Springs High School Sparks
Aidan Pflieger Reno High School Reno
Madeline Stephens Churchill County High School Fallon
Kyla Trotter Churchill County High School Fallon

Southern Nevada Top Ten Student-Athletes of the Year

Madisen Berg Basic Academy Henderson
Owen Boyack Centennial High School Las Vegas
Owen Davis Durango High School Las Vegas
Anniece Finch Arbor View High School Las Vegas
Judah Hafter The Adelson School Las Vegas
Emma Humes Moapa Valley High School Overton
Michael Mercer Centennial High School Las Vegas
Grant Nehls Clark High School Las Vegas
Kady Schwietz Liberty High School Las Vegas
Heliane Sutton Pahrump Valley High School Pahrump

For more information about the NIAA/One Nevada Top Ten Student-Athletes of the Year awards, visit http://niaa.com/awards.


The Nevada Interscholastic Activities Association (NIAA) is a private, non-profit organization
(501c3) originally formed by the secondary schools in Nevada. In essence, the NIAA is the
governing body of high school athletics and activities in the Silver State as recognized by the
Nevada state legislature. It is important to note, however, that the NIAA does NOT receive state
funding. The NIAA’s three revenue streams are corporate partnerships, event ticket sales, and
member school dues.


With over $1.2 billion in assets, One Nevada Credit Union is one of the largest locally owned,
federally insured credit unions in the state. It is also one of the strongest, well-capitalized
financial institutions in the country. One Nevada specializes in serving Nevadan’s personal
financial needs. One Nevada serves 75,000 members, has 15 branches, and offers 46,000
surcharge-free ATMs through the Allpoint Network. Membership is open to all residents of
Washoe, Clark, and Nye counties. One Nevada is federally insured by the National Credit Union
Administration, a U.S. Government Agency. For more information, visit www.onenevada.org.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *